Multitasking in the Classroom

Multitasking in the Classroom 

  • I multitask everyday. I always have my phone with me and check it regularly. I find it hard to focus on homework for long stretches of time so I generally bounce between homework, pinterest, craigslist and facebook. I also usually have the t.v. on while doing homework. 
  • I am most likely to multitask when I am doing something I don’t really find enjoyable, such as homework. I also multitask a lot at work answering phones and dealing with customers. I am also guilty of multitasking while driving. When driving sometimes I am eating, texting or looking for something I’ve dropped. I am constantly multitasking, even though it may not be effective. 
  • I use facebook and pinterest on a daily basis as well as texting and calling on my phone. 
  • I think that having the t.v. on while doing homework has a negative impact on my retention and short term memory. It is much harder to focus on what I need to be learning when a show or movie is on the t.v. that I want to be watching. 
  • I have noticed that a lot of my classmates are on their phones during class or navigating between facebook and taking notes, if they are using their laptops. I learned the hard way my freshman year that multitasking during class makes it much harder to learn and succeed during class. 
  • I think today’s students have increased multitasking. Not only do I notice more people on their phones or computers but it also starts at a younger age. Kids in a third grade classroom may already have cell phones which can be a major distraction. I think multitasking has a negative affect on learning. Students cannot focus on what the teacher is telling them when they are worried about the next text that is coming in. It also slows students down when doing homework. If they are watching t.v. they may have to re-read something three times and still may not retain what they just read. 
  • I think that your attention is very limited. I have a hard time listening to music and doing homework because I may type what the musician is singing. This is an example of how limited my attention is. 
  • I don’t think that brains can change just because the demands change. I think students slowly adapt to being able to do more than one thing at a time. I don’t think it is an effective way for the students to learn. 
  • Multitasking with electronic media is similar to being in a classroom stuffed with irrelevant distractions in multiple ways. Both situations would make it hard for the student to focus. They are both visual distractions that aren’t easy to tune out. 
  • I think that frequent assessment would help students to want to stay focused. When I know that I am going to be taking a test over information being presented to me I don’t get on my phone or navigate away from taking notes. By limiting competitive stimuli students would be able to focus on what is being taught. Working in short modules with a variety of learning media would help to keep students engaged in what is going on. By continually switching what you are doing student would remain interested in each module because they are so short. 
  • The article says that students can pay attention to multiple stimuli rather than sustaining focus on one stimulus. Benefits haven’t been discovered yet, but I think being able to multitask allows students to broaden their learning experiences because they can focus on multiple topics at once.
  • http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=95256794
    Image
Leave a Reply

